I started reading Jeff Goins’ new and amazing book called “In between” . The book, through stories , examines the space between promise and fulfillment . It’s that space of waiting that all of us frequently find ourselves in . So often we rush toward our next goal, our newest project, the next adventure
and grow impatient and discouraged in that “in between ” time of waiting.
I’m living in that space right now. To be honest, it’s gotten me a bit discouraged. There are some areas in my life where the fulfillment seems to be far away at best and intangible at worst.
What I am learning in this long waiting season is that here is where growth happens. It’s the cocoon the butterfly has to endure, the nine month of carrying a baby a mom expectantly and impatiently goes through. Growth is happening, unobserved. Something takes shape. Even in my time of waiting I am realizing that I’m growing. I’m changing, slowly.
Looking back at those in between times in my life, I now see the growth that took place. I became more tenacious, outspoken, patient. My relationship with God became deeper, more intimate. My faith grew deep roots.
I have a feeling you’re in that place, too. If I could sit down with you , have a cup of coffee, I would tell you to change your focus from solely looking at the goal, whether that is a career change, a mate, a child,retirement or finally stepping fully into what God has called you to do. Maybe yours is a different goal. Maybe you’re just looking for circumstances in your life to change. The point is, if we only focus on the goal we loose sight of the here and now, the journey. The journey is what shapes you and ultimately prepares you for the “after”.
So, let’s focus on today, the moments that may not be monumental but nevertheless bring beauty into the waiting. Be assured that the wait is worth it all!

Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, my Help and my God. (Psalm 42:5 AMP)

